Even when choosing a healthy lifestyle and going vegan, we all have guilty pleasures. Some of us just can’t say no sometimes and choose to indulge. One seemingly harmless snack is gummy bears. What are they really made of? Are they healthy? You’re at the right place. Read on to find out.
As far as fat content goes, you’re in the clear. Gummy bears generally are fat free. This might give you the idea that even if gummy bears aren’t great for you, they’re certainly not bad for you. That’s not necessarily true. Gummy bears are made of mostly gelatin and different forms of sugar. It’s important to point out the fact that gelatin is usually made from cow or pig tendons, ligaments, bones and/or skin, which certainly makes it off-limits to vegetarians and vegans. It can be hard to say no to the sweet little fellows, but remembering the reasons why you said no to animal products will hopefully help you make your decision.
Because of the gelatin content, gummy bears actually contain a few grams of protein. They, in no way, should add to your daily protein intake if you’re a vegan, and even if you’re not vegan, eating the amount of gummy bears it would take to add up to a daily serving of protein would result in a stomach ache before you could finish.
Gummy bears may be fat free, but they do contain carbs. A good amount of calories come from the carbohydrates. There are two different types of carbs. There are simple carbs and complex carbs and there’s a big difference. Simple carbs are also known as “empty carbs,” while complex carbs are good carbs and aid in healthy digestion. The carbs found in gummy bears are of the simple carb variety. Also gummy bears can cause tooth decay as they tend to stick to teeth.
All-in-all, gummy bears have no vitamin or mineral content. This makes them more just to satisfy your sweet tooth than to add any actual nutritional value to your diet. However, since gummy bears are so loved, companies have started making varieties that are actually good for you. Some brands of gummy bears have added vitamin C. Other companies have taken it a step further and have started producing multivitamins in gummy form, although those still include gelatin. Either way in order to follow a clean and healthy vegan way-of-life, that includes saying no to gummy bears and finding better ways to satisfy your guilty pleasures.